Tuesday, 13 December 2011

Bangkok 3rd time 'round

BANGKOK. HOLY SHIT!
The place where people have a good time. The Place people fear of getting taken over. The place where a shitload of new beginnings start.

What a place to be. I mostly never like cities. Mark always tried to convince me of liking cities, just the easiness of them, the convienience of them. Well, I have to admit. After India.... ANYTHING IS AWESOME. However, Bangkok is a world of great street food and well, happy times. Even though my bowels were ejecting everything they could from India they were taking in the crazy amounts of happy spicy Thai food they experienced! I don't have too much time to tell you of our experience here but I promise I will explain later.
But for now, I am out to enjoy our last couple days and to celebrate Marks Birthday for one last time in this city.
HOLY SHIT, WISH US LUCK XO

Saturday, 10 December 2011

over view

Wow, I would never think that I would be happier to leave a country, however I never thought I would be in India! I can't say it was shit, neither can I say I loved it. India, what a diverse place to be. I don't know if I will ever go back, but what a different culture, and well it made me harden up! I was hugging Mark and high fiving while leaving this crazy country, with a gigantic smile on my face. Mark and I came to the conclusion; no man can travel India without a woman, and no woman should travel India alone. This is to get the whole experience; that is unless you are going only to Goa and the south, or have a guide the whole time. It is a very different pace to be and something you just can't figure out. Unlike an engine of the future, it is somehting that won't ever be explained in simple terms.
I am glad to be gone, yet I don't wish to take back anytime I have experienced in the country.
But with a large smile on my face I get to say for the third time, "HELLO BANGKOK, here we come!!!"

Sunday, 4 December 2011

HOLY COW

Cows.
The cows in India walk the streets, eating garbage but somtimes are fed leftovers. They are a holy animal, left to wander the land as they wish, but people want them close by because they are holy. They believe that if they feed them once in a while they will get good Karma out of it!
So, the cows walk on the highway, in the middle of city center traffic, through street shops, around the city and town eating whatever garbage they can find.
Its funny because as soon as they get towards someone's business they get smacked with a stick or rock or a hand..
I had to write this because today I saw a hurt cow with a very large gash on its leg, that will more than likely get infected, an kill the cow slowly. Also, they have many cows die due to eating plastic and the plastic getting caught and the cow chokes on it. I also have seen a cow walking with a large gash in its leg, it was a pale brown cow. I could see the blood poison going through its leg and into its body, due to the brights pink lines down its torso.

This gets me upset, because if this animal is so holy why aren't they taking care of them. it is bad luck for te Hindus if the cow dies on their account or on their property. So why wouldn't they try to help it. there are some vets that work solely on these animals and they are volunteers.
I don't think I will ever understand this religion ever. I think it is better to eat the animal, and then people would be keeping them well fed and healthy! Makes sense to me!

vegetarianism = 0, Carnivorous = 1

Friday, 2 December 2011

SUMMER TIME!!! Part Deux...ish

Well, back again!
I mean at the beach. I am in the same internet cafe I was in when I wrote the last blog. We had a bus booked for tonight, a 16 hour sleeper bus, to go to Mumbai. We were going to go into Nashik, a wine producing region of India, but need to go through Mumbai to do this. Their wine really isn't that great, and well, although I could have bragging rights that I have been to a wine region that not many people have been, I had a better plan; I can sit on the beach and drink.uhh..."taste" the wine there.

Mark and I had all of our bags packed and made our way to the bus station. After a cocktail (it's a sleeper bus so cocktails are good for making you fall asleep) we went to stand and wait for the bus to come. We had bought our ticket and were ready to go. When the bus arrived, I said "I don't wanna leave the beach yet!" And it turned out Mark didn't want to either, so we didn't. We ripped up our ticket and bought one for 3 days later. Went back to the beach, and put our suits on and stayed almost an hour in the water. Another great decision made by Mark and Kylee!!! The ticket was 1000 rupees. Equivalent to $20, we can afford that for some calming ocean waves I do declare!


Thursday, 1 December 2011

SummerTIME!!!!!

Wow, I can't believe we were going to skip Goa. It is the sandy beach paradise of India. We started in Anjuna beach, which was supposed to be very busy...it was not. It was a little beach town with locals selling clothes and fruit, the beer flows quickly due to the fact that there are no liquor taxes in Goa. a 650ml of alright beer is exactly a dollar. A 26oz of my fav..Bacardi Rum costs $8 CAD!! Awesome. And the swimming is free. The food is great, the hostels aren't expensive and the sun is hot! We made some friends on the way out to Goa on the train and hung out with them throughout the rest of our Goa experience. Mark and I never really party, we made friends with our favorite restaurant, and hung out for just over a week, laying around on the beach. I tell you; being able to wear a tank top or just a bikini in India and not get stared at the whole time is one of the best feelings in the world! I think the only time I had to do work was when I bought a cob of corn from the street stall woman and got chased by a cow with horns who wanted it a heck of a lot more badly than I did. But I ran and well, he couldn't get through the gates! Needless to say I ate the corn and fed him the cob, it was a good compromise!

After this we took 4 buses and a Rickshaw to get down south to Palolem beach. It was supposed to be "the quiet beach' yet because everyone knows about it, it is not very quiet anymore. We stayed for 2 nights rented a scooter bike and took a look around to find a quiet beach. We found one not too far away, I am not mentioning the name, due to the fact it is quiet and I don't want to ruin it quicker than it should be, but it was a great find. We got an awesome beach bungalo, which Mark had scoped out 2 days before, and we are paying about $10 a night, it is a nicer one than the rest and on our balcony we can see the ocean and the sunset. (Mark is a romantic after all!) But I must tell you about the awesome party that we went to before this.

So since we have been to this party people say that they have them back at home, however I have never heard of them before this one!
Since the beaches have brought many people down for drinks and loud music, the locals have complained to the government that the nights have become too loud, and they say it is not what they think is fair. This happened about 6 years ago (I'm guessing) but the law now states, "No loud music after 10:30pm"
The people still wanted to party though. So some British people came up with a plan. Wireless headphone dance party. Each headphone set comes with volume control and 3 different stations for 3 different live DJs spinning different music. I have found this a great thing because you won't blow your ears off unless you do it to yourself. As well, if you don't like a certain type of music you can change and your friend can listen to different type as well. It is weird though, because you take the phones off and it is almost silent besides people talking to one another, and everyone is dancing to a different beat. It sounds and looks stupid but it works really well. It was one of my favorite parties of all time and will never be forgotten. Pictures will be soon to come.

But as I am sitting here my last day on the beach is withering away and even though the Air Con is awesome, I have to bask in the sun for as long as I can, in as little clothing as I can get away with in this country. Because tomorrow we are back in the main cities and I have to be fully covered up, in this crazy heat!
UNTIL NEXT TIME!!!

( I apologize if some things are not correctly spelled in my blogs, it is because most of the keyboards are sticky or don't have letters are just used and abused)